Drink: White Sangria

So, unfortunately, thanks to the media, a lot of people think that lawyer drink all the time. Right after I took the bar exam, if you saw me, I fell into that stereotype, but you tell me you wouldn’t drink everything in sight after you studied for two months for a two day test that decides your entire future. But that was an isolated (sort of) experience.

Typically, I have a drink or two and I’m good. But, when I have people over, I will break out a bottle of wine. This time, I decided to do something special and tried to re-create the white sangria I had at Texas de Brazil. I failed at replicating the taste exactly, but if at first you don’t succeed… 🙂

White Sangria (Adapted from Better Homes and Gardens)

Ingredients

Image

  • A magnum (1.5L) of white wine (I used Sauvignon Blanc, but next time, I think I would use a wine closer to the sweeter end of the spectrum)
  • Various fruits (I had 2 apples, 2 oranges, 2 limes, and 4 peaches, but because of my pitcher, only used half)
  • 7-Up (or some other lemon-lime soda)

Directions

  • WASH YOUR FRUIT! (Sorry to yell so early in the blog, but you’re going to leave the skin on all the fruit and you don’t know where that stuff has been.)
  • Cut all your fruit in thin slices and remove all seeds, pits, etc.
  • Put your fruit in the pitcher.
  • Pour the wine over the fruit. Image
  • Let the wine sit (the longer, the better)
  • When you’re ready to serve, fill the glass 3/4 full and then top it off with you’re soda.
  • If you want add some fruit from the pitcher and garnish with more fruit.
  • Enjoy!

Image

Final Verdict: Delicious, but next time I’ll add some other liquors. I’m still after that Texas de Brazil sangria taste, so if anyone knows that recipes…

Let's hear the arguments (or leave a comment)...

