Dessert: Red Velvet Cake Balls

So, using my new fangled toy (see previous post), I decided to make some red velvet cake balls. Yum! After some trial and error, I managed to produced enough cake balls to complete my project, but you’ll have to wait for that. So, onto the recipe!

Red Velvet Cake Balls (Adapted from Barefoot Contessa)

IngredientsImage

  • 2 1/2 cups of flour
  • 1/4 cocoa powder (the original recipe called for unsweetened, but I had sweetened in the cupboard)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk (see Tip below)
  • 1 tablespoon red food coloring (I had red gel color in the cupboard, next time I’ll try to use something that would give a brighter color)
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 stick of unsalted butter (more expensive, but totally worth it)
  • 1 cup of sugar (I lessened the amount of sugar because I was using sweetened cocoa powder)
  • 2 eggs (the original recipe called for extra large, but I used large and felt okay about the finished product)

Directions

  • Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  • If using a mold or cake pan, grease and flour your tool, if making muffins, put liners in pan.
  • Tip: If you do not keep buttermilk on hand, like me (that stuff is so expensive and I can never use a whole carton), at this point, using a measuring cup, fill with a little more than 3/4 but less than 1 cup of milk. Then add enough vinegar to make a full cup. Stir and let sit while you mix the other ingredients.
  • Sift all of the “big” dry ingredients (flour and cocoa powder).
  • Next add all the remaining dry ingredients, except for the sugar (salt, baking powder, and baking soda). Set that bowl to the side.
  • By this time, your milk should have thickened (science magic!), so add the food coloring, vinegar, and vanilla. Set the cup to the side.
  • In one last bowl (I promise!), beat the butter until it’s creamy. I find that cutting the butter before I start makes it easier, but if that’s not working for you, put the bowl in the microwave for 5-7 seconds.
  • Once the butter is creamy, begin to sift in the sugar and mix. I go 1/4 cup at a time so that I can see how sweet the mix is becoming and decide if I need to stop. Image
  • Once all of the sugar is incorporated into the butter, begin to mix in the other ingredients carefully. The Barefoot Contessa suggested to alternate adding the wet and dry ingredients 1/3 at a time. I think that was good advice because have you ever tried to go from 0 to mixing 2 1/2 cups of flour? It’s messy and difficult, especially if you’re using a $6 Wal-Mart mixer like I am. Image
  • If making a cake or muffins, it’s pretty easy because you can just put the batter in the pan, but since I was making cake balls, I had to get a little creative. So I put the batter in a gallon sized freezer bag and snipped off the tip to make it easier to dispense the cake.
  • I filled the mold, put the top on, and locked the trays. Then, into the oven it went for about 15 minutes. And out came delicious cake balls (and some even more delicious rejects). Image
  • To get the balls out of this pan, I found that I was more successful at getting them out intact if I wiggled the ball, as opposed to trying to yank it straight out. (If you need to stop and marvel at that technical baking language, it’s okay ;-D)

Verdict: Delicious, the balls that were intact were perfect for my upcoming project (what is that you ask, well, you’re just going to have to wait) and the rejects were perfect for my quality assurance testing. Nothing like homemade cake fresh out of the oven.

Thanks for reading. Until next time.

Let's hear the arguments (or leave a comment)...

