Drink: Chocolate Waterfall Hot Chocolate

So, it’s the first big fall rain in Denver and I am in heaven! Fall means crunchy leaves and crunchy leaves means my birthday is right around the corner. But this rain makes me want to curl up with a good book and a warm drink.

A while ago, I came across The Very Hungry Bookworm. Recipes based on beloved children’s books?! What could be better? I have been using books as inspiration for trying new foods since The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe when I became absolutely obsessed with Turkish Delight.

Side Note: When I finally did get to try some of the famed treat, I was disappointed. Not in the Turkish Delight itself, but in the fact that the character sold his family out for a plate full of candy. I had always likened it to something hearty, not that the food being hearty would have made selling out the family any better, huh?

Anyway, back to the website. So, another favorite book (and movie) of mine is Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I love the old-school Oompa Loompas and the subtle dark undertones of that movie. And just like every child who has seen the movie, I wanted a chocolate waterfall. Well, since that would be far too expensive (and a mess to clean), I have to settle for the next best thing, my own individual cup of hot chocolate from the chocolate waterfall. Ready? Close your eyes. Count to 3. Come with me and you’ll be in a world of pure imagination. (Sorry couldn’t help it.)

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Hot Chocolate (adapted from The Very Hungry Bookworm)

IngredientsImage

  • 1 cup of milk.
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon of sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon of vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons of heavy cream
  • Whipped cream (optional)

Directions

  • In a saucepan over medium heat (my stove goes from 1-10 and I had my burner on 5), combine the milk, cocoa powder, and sugar.
  • Cook for 10 minutes, stirring frequently to keep the milk from burning.
  • Add the cream and vanilla extract, and stir for another minute.
  • Pour into a mug, top with whipped cream if you desire, and enjoy.

Image

All in all, I enjoyed this drink. I like my hot chocolate a bit thicker, but, when I think about the movie, the chocolate waterfall was a bit on the thin side. However, next time I try to make my own cocoa, I will definitely use more cream for a thicker drink.

Final Verdict: Delicious

Let's hear the arguments (or leave a comment)...

