Happy (Belated) Thanksgiving!

Hello All!

After a very hectic month and a half, my life has finally calmed down so that I can get back to blogging. So, since it’s the holidays, I am going to jump back in with both feet and show you my Thanksgiving dessert handiwork.

 

 

Okay, I went a little crazy, but if you had just received this beauty you would too! 🙂 So, the bottom photo is my first attempt at making a butter braid and the top photo includes pecan sandies, sugar cookie cups with a dulce de leche filling, and pumpkin bread bites with a cream cheese frosting. Most of the elements of these desserts have been featured on this blog before and the recipes for the pecan sandies and sugar cookie cups are below. There are elements about the braid I want to refine before I share the recipe, so look for that in the future. Enjoy!

Pecan Sandies (Makes 36 cookies)

adapted from Add A Pinch

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups of flour (I used all-purpose)
  • 1 1/2 cups of confectioners’ sugar (1/2 cup for recipe, remainder for rolling)
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla
  • 2 sticks of unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup of pecans (to add a little something extra, toast your pecans at 350 degrees for 5-7 minutes. It makes a difference.)

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees (or keep it on after toasting your pecans. Do it!) and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a mixing bowl cream together your butter and a 1/2 cup of sugar.
  3. Add vanilla.
  4. Add your flour approximately 1/2 cup at a time until throughly combined.
  5. Add your pecans and mix for approximately 30 seconds more.
  6. Take approximately 1 tablespoon of dough, roll it into a ball, and place on prepared baking sheet.
  7. Bake for 20-25 minutes until lightly brown.
  8. After the cookies have cooled completely, roll them in the remaining sugar. I left my cookies to cool overnight and through some sort of magic, when I rolled them the next day, the sugar stuck to the dry cookies very well.

Sugar Cookie Cups (makes 48 mini cookie cups)

Adapted from Food Network

Ingredients

  • 3 cups of flour (I used all-purpose)
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon of milk
  • 3 tablespoons of heavy cream
  • 2 sticks of unsalted butter, softened

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 375.
  2. Cream together your butter and sugar.
  3. Add egg, milk, heavy cream, baking powder, and salt and mix thoroughly.
  4. Add flour approximately 1/2 cup at a time.
  5. Roll approximately 1/2 tablespoon of dough into a ball and place into a mini cupcake tin. I used a full tablespoon and wished I used less so that I could make a deeper well. Next time.
  6. Bake for 8-10 minutes.
  7. When the cookies come out of the oven use a coffee scoop (or a small ice cream scoop or the bottom of a shot glass, well really anything to make a well) and put an indentation in each cookie ball to make the cup.
  8. Let cool and fill to your heart’s desire. Note: I used a toothpick to wiggle the cooled cups out of the muffin pan because my fingers were too much for the delicate cups.

Also, as I promised, I want to share my cooking successes and failures. In my head, I wanted to pipe the dulce de leche frosting very prettily (like the cups at the top of the tray), but my piping bag had other ideas. So when the seam split and destroyed five of my cups, I had to go to plan B. So instead of being piped, the frosting was spooned in and I think they turned out well.

So, I’m officially back. There will be more blog posts coming, including potential Christmas desserts/gifts/etc. Got any suggestions? Requests? Thanks for your patience.

Let's hear the arguments (or leave a comment)...

