Pizza Rolls aka Giant Rolled Hot Pockets

So I’m always on the lookout for quick simple recipes that look very impressive. This recipe hit 2.5 of those needs. The only downfall is the proofing time, but if you take the bread out in the morning, it’ll be proofed and ready by the time you come home. Well, on to the recipe.

Pizza Rolls

adapted from What About Pie

Ingredients

  • Frozen bread dough (chosen for ease, if you have a pizza dough or bread recipe you love and the time to do it, by all means, do it!)
  • Deli pepperoni (much larger than regular pizza pepperoni; I needed a little more than 1/2 lb. for two rolls)
  • 2 cups italian shredded cheese blend
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Garlic powder
  • Italian seasoning
  • Olive oil

Directions

Proof your dough (this is a fancy way of saying let your dough sit on the counter and rise). Below my dough after about four-five hours. What A Pie suggests (and I second) spraying the side of the plastic wrap that will touch the bread with cooking spray. I also put sprayed parchment paper under the dough.

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Next, roll out your dough into some form of a rectangle. I had a bit of a difficult time working with my second roll. In hindsight, I should have walked away from the dough for a couple of minutes and let it calm down, but I didn’t. Ah well, you live you learn, right?

Pour about three tablespoons of oil onto your dough and spread it. Sprinkle on your seasonings and lay down your pepperoni. On my first roll, which was far more cooperative, I managed to get five rows of four. Put your cheese on top of your pepperoni and roll. What A Pie put melted butter on top of her rolls (and they turned out gorgeously), but all the butter in my fridge is spoken for so I used a little more oil, some seasoning, and more cheese (because you can never have enough cheese :-D). Repeat with second (or third) roll and put them in the over for approximately 25 minutes. *Note These will rise more in the oven, so make sure you have room between your rolls and the top rack or top of your oven.*

Look at this deliciousness.

These were amazing straight out of the oven and even better for lunch the next day. I cooked two rolls and after two meals for two people, I still have about 3/4 of a roll left.

Final Verdict: Delicious

Let's hear the arguments (or leave a comment)...

