Lasagna Soup

I am in love with my crockpot. Completely and totally infatuated. Once, my boyfriend broke the liner of the crockpot (the part you can remove to clean) and I was devastated. But I got another and have been slow cooking to my little heart’s content. What I love the most is putting ingredients into the crockpot, going to sleep, and waking up to at least a week of delicious meals. It’s one of the easiest things to start learning how to cook because it is very, very difficult to screw things up. So enough talking, on to the recipe!

Lasagna Soup-Finished

Lasagna Soup- Adapted from Family Fresh Meals

Ingredients

  • Ground beef or sausage (I used Mild Italian Sausage)
  • 3-4 cups of beef broth
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 bulb of roasted garlic (or 4-5 cloves finely chopped)
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes (28 oz.)
  • 1 can of tomato paste (6 oz.)
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes with green chilies (10 oz.)
  • 1 can of fire roasted tomatoes (14 oz.)
  • 1 can of chopped green chilies (6 oz.)
  • Garlic powder (to taste)
  • Italian seasoning (to taste)
  • Shell pasta (uncooked)
  • Cheese (as much of the glorious substance as you wish)

Directions

  1. If you have time, brown your meat. You do not have to do this because given enough time (6-8 hours) the crock will throughly cook all meat, but browning the meat gives the dish an amazing level of flavor. Put the beef in the crockpot.
  2. Add the roasted garlic. This is another step that adds an unbelievable amount of flavor, but requires some pre-planning. But I can attest to the fact that once roasted, a bulb will stay fresh in a ziploc baggie for at least a week. To roast the garlic, put the bulb in the center of a large square of foil, cut the tip of the bulb, generously pour olive oil onto the exposed cloves, wrap the foil around the bulb, and put in the oven at 400 degrees for an hour or more. Delicious!
  3. Add the tomatoes, green chilies, water, 3 cups of beef broth, and seasoning. Stir and put the lid on the crockpot. Cook on low for 6-8 hours (or high for, I’m assuming, 3-4, but if I’m using the slow cooker, I’m going to cook my meal slowly so all of the flavors have time to come together).
  4. Approximately 30 minutes before serving, add the uncooked pasta and an addition 1/2 to full cup of broth. I didn’t and, as a result, I had to add a little bit to each serving.
  5. Serve with cheese. You could also add sour cream or green onions, but I was heading to work and did not have time for all of that.

I have not had one recipe come out of the crockpot that I have not loved and this is no exception. It’s warm and filling and easy, all the makings of a great meal in my book!

Final Verdict: Delicious

Let's hear the arguments (or leave a comment)...

