Product Review: Fat Daddio’s Silicone Baking Mat

All it takes is one batch of cookies sticking to the baking sheet or parchment paper to make a baker (novice or otherwise) want a silicone baking mat. When most think of silicone baking sheets, they think of Silpat. These are the best of the best, so of course, they are the highest priced. Since I’m recovering from getting through law school, I don’t have a lot of disposable income, so I wanted to find a less expensive (but equally effective) alternative. Enter Fat Daddio’s. I saw the silicone pastry bag while taking a macron class at Sur La Table, so I checked them out on Amazon and found a half sheet (11 5/8 Inch x 16 1/2 inch) for $14.99. Ten dollars less than the Silpat. Add in free two day shipping and I was sold.

So onto the review.

Pros:

  • I baked three different types of cookies in the sheet and not one cookie stuck. All I needed was a good, quick shake to slide them off.
  • The sheet was very easy to clean, a couple of swipes with a sponge and I was good.

Cons

  • There is no holder to store the sheet. But that is easily solved with a used paper towel roll.

Verdict: Buy. I’m going to buy another. The half sheet size fit my largest baking pan (17.25 x 11.25).

Reasoning: This product did what it was supposed to do (kept things from sticking) for a reasonable price.

Let's hear the arguments (or leave a comment)...

