Freshman Friday: Breakfast Burritos

Welcome back for another edition of Freshman Friday, a weekly installment using only kitchen appliances that can be used in a dorm and food stuffs that can fit in a mini fridge.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, which means it is the meal I eat least frequently and when I do, it’s not always healthy. But this, should solve that problem. In about 30 minutes, I had enough burritos for two weeks worth of breakfasts. And I understand that you can’t have hot plates in a dorm room, but most dorms (I think) have a communal kitchen that you can use as long as you clean up behind yourself. So grab your pans, print out this recipe, and head on down!

Breakfast Burritos: Adapted from Add A Pinch

Yields 12 burritos

Ingredients

Breakfast Burrito Ingredients

  • 3  cups of  liquid egg whites
  • 12 tortilla shells (I used soft taco sized shells, you can go larger for fewer burritos, but I would not suggest going smaller.)
  • Various fillings (I used mild Italian sausage, onions, green chilies, spinach, and cheese, but the possibilities are endless. I ended up not using the bell peppers pictured because I was not sure how they would freeze/thaw.)
  • Aluminum foil
  • Freezer plastic baggies

Directions

  1. Cook your meat, if you’re using any. As I said, here I used the sausage because that’s what I had on hand, but you could also use bacon, ham, or keep it meatless and use Boca crumbles, mushrooms. Possibilities=endless. I sauteed my onions, then added my meat to brown, and then mixed in the green chilies. I also added some garlic powder and pepper to taste.
  2. Cook your eggs. I decided to just cook the eggs to make sure that they were fully cooked.
  3. Prepare the assembly line. Lay down squares of foil and place a tortilla on top. Layer you ingredients using 1-1.5 oz. of each ingredient. Try to keep your filling in a line down the center of the tortilla, it will make rolling much easier. Breakfast Burritos Assembly Line
  4. Now, I used to work at Subway, so I got pretty good at rolling wraps and now I share this knowledge with you. Pick a side, any side and fold over the filling. Try to get as much of the filling under this flap. Next, fold the ends into the burrito and roll to meet the opposite end of the tortilla. If done correctly, your burrito should resemble a restaurant burrito. It’ll be a little more difficult if you add to much filling, but hang in there, you’ll get it!
  5. Finally, roll the completed burrito in the foil and put in a baggie labeled with the date and the contents. I’ll be making more with different fillings so it will be nice to have the burritos labeled without having to label each individual burrito. Breakfast Burritos Bagged

So, I made the burritos (and wrote the post) on Sunday. During the week, I tried a couple of different methods to heating the burritos. The best way I’ve found is to let one defrost in the fridge overnight and put the burrito (completely wrapped) in the oven for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. If you like a crispier tortilla, like I do, open the foil and put the burrito back in the oven for another 2-5 minutes.

I tried the straight from frozen technique and it works, but it’s not my cup of tea. If you’ve forgotten to take a burrito out the night before, put the burrito (co in the oven at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

Next time, I make these, I will try some different meats, different vegetables, and add a sauce (oooh country gravy sounds really good right now). The possibilites for these butrritos are endless, so go wild!

Final Verdict: Delicious

One thought on “Freshman Friday: Breakfast Burritos

Let's hear the arguments (or leave a comment)...

