Freshman Friday: Avocado Egg Salad

Welcome back for another edition of Freshman Friday, a weekly installment using only kitchen appliances that can be used in a dorm and food stuffs that can fit in a mini fridge.

Eggs are amazing. Hard boiled, soft boiled, over easy, over hard, and, of course, scrambled with cheese. In any iteration, these portable protein powerhouses (oooh, natural alliteration) are one of that staples for any fridge, big or small.

So, how do you cook the eggs without leaving your room? Well, if you want over easy, over hard, or fried, I’m still working on figuring that out. I’ve already showed you that eggs can be scrambled in the microwave. So all that’s left are boiled eggs and for that, a rice cooker is very handy.  A rice cooker should not be limited to making only rice (and actually, since I prefer brown rice, I haven’t used my rice maker to make rice since I got it). In fact, a rice cooker can be used to cook anything that needs to be boiled or steamed. I’ve cooked pasta and eggs, in addition to steaming vegetables (fresh and frozen) and some frozen (though thawed) dumplings. So get one, post haste and let’s get cooking!

Avocado Egg Salad on Rice Cake

Avocado Egg Salad

Avocado Egg Salad Ingredients

Adapted from Australian Avocado

Ingredients

  • 4 Eggs (Missing from the photo because they were still boiling)
  • 1 medium sized avocado
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1-2 tbsp of sweet relish
  • 1-2 tbsp of dill pickle juice
  • Various seasonings (I used pepper, Old Bay, and garlic powder)

Directions

  1. Boil your eggs, obviously. 
  2. When cool, chop your eggs into pieces. For ease, I like to cut my eggs in half, lay one half down (flat side down), cut in one direction, and, while squeezing the egg to keep it together, rotate and cut in the other direction for a loose dice.
    IMG_0366  Dicing Eggs: Step 2
  3. Put eggs in bowl. Next, slice open the avocado and slice the celery. For this recipe, I would suggest getting a slightly overripe avocado (an avocado that is very soft when squeezed) unless you have a blender. For this recipe, I used my Magic Bullet (six years and still going strong!) to blend my avocado chunks into a mayo like texture. Once done, add avocado and celery to eggs and mix.
  4. Next, add your sweet relish and dill pickle juice. I use a 1:1 ratio (meaning I add them evenly). If you’ve never made egg salad before, I suggest starting with the smaller amount, tasting, and either adding more or leaving it alone. Finally, season to taste and mix.

Avocado Egg Salad

Now, you can enjoy your egg salad right away, but I prefer to let it cool in the fridge and then top a rice cake with a slice of cheese and a quarter cup of salad. This is not the best looking recipe, but the avocado provided a creaminess similar to mayo and my addition of spices (and the pickle juice) helped to round out the flavor.

Final Verdict: Delicious

Let's hear the arguments (or leave a comment)...

